Rest.

Linked here is an excellent discourse about the children of Israel entering into God’s rest and the consequences of not entering into His rest by faith.

https://www.reviveourhearts.com/radio/revive-our-hearts/finding-true-rest-1/

In my opinion this is as good of a teaching on the topic of rest and faith as given as a warning from the Old Testament. The Lord’s Anvil has been speaking on this for decades, it’s the first time I’ve seen the teaching from an Evangelical perspective.

(Nancy also has excellent teachings on marriage.)

 

About God is Laughing

https://ragingvanity.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Rest, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rest.

  1. infowarrior1 says:

    ”(Nancy also has excellent teachings on marriage.)”
    1 Timothy 2:12
    But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence.For Adam was first formed, then Eve.And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.Notwithstanding she shall be saved in childbearing, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety.

    1 Corinthians 14:34-35
    “As in all the congregations of the saints, women should remain silent in the churches. They are not allowed to speak, but must be in submission, as the Law says. If they want to inquire about something, they should ask their own husbands at home; for it is disgraceful for a woman to speak in the church” (vv. 33-35).

    Using the KJV due to feminist corruption of scripture:
    http://cbmw.org/uncategorized/the-translation-of-gender-terminology-in-the-niv-2011/

    • A) The radio isn’t church.
      B) How can we expect older women to teach the younger women if they are to be “silent”.
      C) I understand the trepidation about women teachers. This one is different (she teaches about wifely submission).
      D) I haven’t heard a Evangelical male get this message right yet, I’d be glad if you found one to direct me to.

      • infowarrior1 says:

        As long as she is not teaching men then I do not have a problem.

      • infowarrior1 says:

        What do you think of John Knox position that women are prohibited from any authority over men:
        http://www.swrb.com/newslett/actualNLs/firblast.htm

      • I’ve been all over the map on the subject. From my time in the German Baptists (as a non-adherent) where I saw silent unsubmissive women who would chide other women about the propriety of their head coverings. I sat on a Church board with another unsubmissive woman who was very vocal in “church”.

        Watching the Evangelical feminists mow down the Ecclesia has been a sight to behold. What I see are grabbing, unsubmitted women taking the reins of the meetings. The grasping, greedy nature grieves the Holy Spirit. Having said that I LISTEN to women. All the time. I’m sure you do to. Do those women have “authority” over you? That question becomes difficult. Would I sit in a room where I had to quietly listen to Nancy Lee Demoss and not be able to interact with her? No, too passive for me. My passivity is part of what gives this authority.

        At the bottom of what could be perceived as my waffling is my disaffection with the modern concoction of “church”. The dialectic message given by a preacher (preaching has it’s place) as being the mainstay of our walk is deeply flawed in my opinion. How is iron going to sharpen iron when my butt is planted in the pew for most of my outward exhibition of Christ? I meet with 2 or 3 as often as I can. Sometimes they are women. If they are unsubmissive women (we can tell right?), I don’t count them. Listening to a teaching by Nancy Lee Demoss doesn’t give her authority over me. I can be like a good Berean and assess the teaching apart from her sex without a quiver of conviction over placing myself in submission to a woman. If you can’t you should avoid it.

Leave a Reply

