The Law is a Shadow.

I’ve been having a conversation online with a member of the Hebrew Roots Movement (HRM).  I have found some interesting parallels between their understanding and my own. However, their insistance upon the performance of the law as a requirement for pleasing God becomes a sticking point I am trying to iron out with one of them. The following text is a comment I made regarding the observance of the Mosaic law (with a tip of the hat to the Lord’s Anvil who I have had extensive conversations with on this topic).

The law was a shadow, not the thing itself. Like the shadows of my hands shows you the outline of my hands with the sense of proportion and the idea that I have 10 digits they are not my hands themselves. When we are told not to steal, it is not enough to not steal we must not be a thief in our heart, to do so is to sin. The person who is not a thief has had the law written on their heart and their shadow will not steal. The person abiding in the Lord has that law written on their heart, they are at rest and their shadow will be a reflection of this rest. I am open to the possibility that God may want me to observe a rest but that is something I will do as I conform to His will, not because I am trying my hardest to make the proper shadow puppet on the ground.

And shall not uncircumcision which is by nature, if it fulfil the law, judge thee, who by the letter and circumcision dost transgress the law? For he is not a Jew, which is one outwardly; neither is that circumcision, which is outward in the flesh: But he is a Jew, which is one inwardly; and circumcision is that of the heart, in the spirit, and not in the letter; whose praise is not of men, but of God.
(Rom 2:27-29)

Circumcision is nothing, and uncircumcision is nothing, but the keeping of the commandments of God. Let every man abide in the same calling wherein he was called.
(1Co 7:19-20)

And Samuel said, Hath the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the LORD? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to hearken than the fat of rams. For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from being king.
(1Sa 15:22-23)

If God desires that I stand on my head every 5th day of the month and I don’t perform it, it is a sin unto me. If He tells me to keep a sabbath rest day and I don’t it is sin to me. If He tells me to fast for a week straight and I don’t it is a sin to me. This is accomplished through HEARING and circumcision of the heart and enablement by the Holy Spirit. Not by my own comprehension and effort.

Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.
(Jas 4:17)

I have been taught and understand that the observance of a day isn’t as important as an abiding rest in His presence daily. When I fail to enter His rest it is a sin to me, no matter what day it is. If I don’t cease from MY OWN works on ANY day it is a sin. My works need to be dead, my heart of flesh needs to be cut off and I need to cease from my own vain endeavors. That is the whole law, not just the shadow of it.

O Israel, return unto the LORD thy God; for thou hast fallen by thine iniquity. Take with you words, and turn to the LORD: say unto him, Take away all iniquity, and receive us graciously: so will we render the calves of our lips. Asshur shall not save us; we will not ride upon horses: neither will we say any more to the work of our hands, Ye are our gods: for in thee the fatherless findeth mercy.
(Hos 14:1-3)

Find the balance of the discussion here.

An excellent video on the topic by Chris White was what kicked the whole thing off:

About God is Laughing

https://ragingvanity.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Christ My Covenant, Hearing God's Voice, Humility and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Law is a Shadow.

  1. sonofdeathswriter says:

    To this day. You still impress me with your knowledge about certain subjects.

  2. I believe that God has blessed me, He’s dealing with in me a person who needs the deflation of humiliation quite often. My brother, “The Lord’s Anvil” and I have been talking about this subject for years.

  3. sonofdeathswriter says:

    You have my attention.

  4. TheLordsanvil says:

    The Law has a shadow of good things to come, The Law is spiritual and as such can only be understood by those who have “spiritual understanding”. God alone can give spiritual understanding and then only to those who want it , are willing to humble themselves and ask for it, and then seek after it. It can not be attained by giving your money to bible colleges and then studying under the professors. It must be imparted by the holy spirit. Man can not give it. Paul desired and prayed for the faithful Brethren at Colosse that they might receive spiritual understanding. See Col 1:9 The reason he prayed was he understood the source. This article contains much spiritual understanding but do not be surprised when carnal men attack and insult you. The natural “carnal” man will not and can not receive the things of God. See 1 Cor 2:14

Leave a Reply

