Is it unscriptural for a Christian to ask for more of God?

I posed this question to a young dispensationalist that I posted about yesterday:

Rather than turning the question of how much Holy Spirit we have into an argument would it be possible to ask God (the Father) for more of Him in our life? To take up our cross daily and receive ANY gift He would offer us? Are we so proud and set in our doctrine that we cant humble ourselves and ask for more of the Holy Spirit? Is that “anti-intellectual”?

to which I received this answer:

Yes that is anti-intellectual and biblically inaccurate. God is already full in our lives, there is no more or less of God. I think you are the one who is too proud to follow truthful doctrine from God’s word and are not happy with what the bible actually says so you make stuff up.

This exachange ocurred on his post “Pentecostalism Is An Anti-Intellectual Plague To Biblical Missions Work” after he deleted my posts referring to Phillip Spener the founder of the Pietist movement and his call to bring the Holy Spirit back to the church, by using these 6 principles:

In Pia desideria, Spener made six proposals as the best means of restoring the life of the Church:

  1. The earnest and thorough study of the Bible in private meetings, ecclesiolae in ecclesia (“little churches within the church”)
  2. The Christian priesthood being universal, the laity should share in the spiritual government of the Church
  3. A knowledge of Christianity must be attended by the practice of it as its indispensable sign and supplement
  4. Instead of merely didactic, and often bitter, attacks on the heterodox and unbelievers, a sympathetic and kindly treatment of them
  5. A reorganization of the theological training of the universities, giving more prominence to the devotional life
  6. A different style of preaching, namely, in the place of pleasing rhetoric, the implanting of Christianity in the inner or new man, the soul of which is faith, and its effects the fruits of life

After pointing out this call to spiritual life during the reformation I was expecting some discourse and discussion. Our young friend responded (predictably) by deleting my posts, I responded with:

Alright, so now instead of answering me when I back up what I’m saying with scripture you just delete my posts? What did I even say here that was offensive? I was legitimately trying to have a conversation here.

And he replied:

I don’t have time to go over every single verse that you took out of context and I don’t care to waste time on postmodern drivel. Go have a “conversation” on Rob Bell’s blog he loves that.

Equating Spener and the arguments I derived from him with postmodern heretic Rob Bell.

I have been meditating and praying about this for several days and answered his point equating to asking for more of God as being un-Biblical with this:

  • You can’t ask for more of God? You are as completely in His will as possible? That my young friend is hubris.

  • If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.
    (Jas 1:5-8)

    “And he said unto them, Which of you shall have a friend, and shall go unto him at midnight, and say unto him, Friend, lend me three loaves; For a friend of mine in his journey is come to me, and I have nothing to set before him? And he from within shall answer and say, Trouble me not: the door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed; I cannot rise and give thee. I say unto you, Though he will not rise and give him, because he is his friend, yet because of his importunity he will rise and give him as many as he needeth. And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened. If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? or if he ask a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent? Or if he shall ask an egg, will he offer him a scorpion? If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him? And he was casting out a devil, and it was dumb. And it came to pass, when the devil was gone out, the dumb spake; and the people wondered.”
    (Luk 11:5-14)

    “Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.”
    (Mal 3:10)

    I am about as far from being a “blab-it-and-grab-it” or a “health and wealth” believer myself (since I believe in the ultimate sovereignty of God) but I am also not going to throw the baby out with the bath water. A thorough reading of Romans 7 and 8 should describe the predicament and prescribe the cure. We need to be as close to the Holy Spirit as possible. Can we grieve the Holy Spirit? Can we give place to the devil?

    “Neither give place to the devil. Let him that stole steal no more: but rather let him labour, working with his hands the thing which is good, that he may have to give to him that needeth. Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption. Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.”
    (Eph 4:27-32)

    Looking at the context I’d say that Paul was issuing this warning to believers.

  • You’ve subscribed to the doctrine of “don’t knock”, “don’t ask”, “don’t seek” and you claim it is “true doctrine”. That seems like the same dodge that the children of Israel gave when God asked them to go up at Mt. Sinai. They received the covenant of the Law for that behavior. Could you give me some verses that tell us NOT to ask of God? Can you give me some verses that tell us to be content at Romans 7 where it seems the doctrine you’ve been taught camps out?

He responded by deleting all of my posts! Ah, the power of “moderation”. When you don’t want to go to the trouble of explaining your doctrine as it relates to scripture don’t go to what your professors taught you, go to your eraser!

The dispensationlist has carved both the Bible and the Church into so many pieces they have to go to Bible School/Seminary to keep the whole mess straight. My Bible tells me that:

But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.
(1Jn 2:27)

And:

Thus saith the LORD; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the LORD.
(Jer 17:5)

Somebody should ask me what I REALLY think about Bible colleges.

About God is Laughing

https://ragingvanity.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in "Churchianity", Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it unscriptural for a Christian to ask for more of God?

  1. UK Fred says:

    Sometimes, IAL, you need to remember the Scripture that speaks of not casting your pearls before swine.

  2. Hannah says:

    I Art Laughing
    “Somebody should ask me what I REALLY think about Bible colleges.”
    You and my father would have much in common!

  3. Junkyard Dawg says:

    Thanks for writing about the Pia Desideria. I’m going to try to make my own household an ecclesiola. (That will take a lot of work.) As far as it being unscriptural for a Christian to ask for more of God, Tozer said, “Every man has as much of God as he wants.” This has been a life changing quote for me. In a long period of dryness and spiritlessness, I realized, I have as much of God as I want right now, and this is as much as I have wanted. I realized the flip side of that is that I can have more of God, if I want to. And I do now. And I want even more of God, and I will have more.

    You also mentioned churchianity in your comments. I am back in church and of course, though it is a good church, it is laced with churchianity. The next time I hear a woman say, “Jesus is my husband,” I don’t know what I’m going to do. There are donation envelopes and pencils in the seats at church, but no barf bags. And I keep my mouth shut in parents meetings where men refer to themselves as “stupid” and “idiot” while describing how their wife is so much smarter than they are. I do believe there are wise women, but I don’t think men should be so self-effacing.

Leave a Reply

