A Flaming Sword (Gen 3:24)

Over the years in my experiences with the Pentecostal movement I have had the opportunity to witness a few teachings on “FIRE!” Most of them leave me doubting that the speaker truly understands what the Bible context of fire even is. It is nothing at all to go to a Pentecostal meeting and receive an “impartation of FIRE!” What do they mean by this? Do they mean holiness, purity, and sanctification as in the case of the sin purging fire that  Isaiah experienced:

Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts. Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar: And he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged.
(Isa 6:5-7)

No. More often than not they are not talking about any such thing. They are not talking about repentance and a consuming of our sin nature. Instead what they are most often talking about is more along these lines, the power to ACQUIRE, the means by which we turn God into Santa Claus:

From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members? Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not. Ye ask, and receive not, because ye ask amiss, that ye may consume it upon your lusts.
(Jas 4:1-3)

This is becoming so pervasive in some circles that I think their eyes glaze over when the read:

For the LORD thy God is a consuming fire, even a jealous God.
(Deu 4:24)

Well, that’s the Old Covenant……

And this word, Yet once more, signifieth the removing of those things that are shaken, as of things that are made, that those things which cannot be shaken may remain. Wherefore we receiving a kingdom which cannot be moved, let us have grace, whereby we may serve God acceptably with reverence and godly fear: For our God is a consuming fire.
(Heb 12:27-29)

So go ahead ask for “FIRE!” but realize what you are getting, the removal of anything in your life that sits upon the foundation of Christ Jesus that can be shaken. Only what God has authored will remain.

For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble; Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward.
(1Co 3:11-14)

The way I understand this is that nobody can get back into the presence of God the Father without experiencing this fire. HE IS a consuming fire, HIS very nature and presence will try us. When he separated Adam and Eve from His presence He set fire between them and His presence:

So he drove out the man; and he placed at the east of the garden of Eden Cherubims, and a flaming sword which turned every way, to keep the way of the tree of life.
(Gen 3:24)

Jesus Christ has provided us a fire proof foundation by which we can approach, even still we will be tried as we saw in 1Cor 3. How deep will this testing go, we see in another example of a sword:

For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.
(Heb 4:12-13)

We know that when He returns Christ will bring that consuming fire with Him:

And now ye know what withholdeth that he might be revealed in his time. For the mystery of iniquity doth already work: only he who now letteth will let, until he be taken out of the way. And then shall that Wicked be revealed, whom the Lord shall consume with the spirit of his mouth, and shall destroy with the brightness of his coming:
(2Th 2:6-8)

Both of these are the word of the Lord, His sword that will make manifest all iniquity and consume it in that day (and to some extent today). When the Wicked is revealed, when the mystery of iniquity is made manifest by the brightness of His coming it WILL be consumed! This is Christ redeeming the creation in order to bring it back into the Holy presence of the Father! Real “FIRE!”

Can’t resist putting in the lyrics to another Jason Gray song here, I couldn’t find a link. If someone can I’ll post it up here.

Jason Gray-Hold Me Back

Put my feet in concrete
Tie my hands behind me
Cause I can feel the pull of the man I was before
Put your blinders on me
Wrap your arms around me
Cause I’m afraid
That I might run right out that door

If you don’t hold me back
Hold me back
Cause it’s just like me
To run from the one who loves me
Father please
Hold me Back
Be the strength I lack
Cause it’s just like me
To run from the one that I need

Take the wind from my sail
Throw the anchor over my rails
Cause I know I’m not always the quickest to concede
When it’s best that I fail
Don’t let my will prevail
Cause my salvation is my magnificent defeat

I need you to hold me back…

Because I was never
able to save myself in the first place
So why would I think I could do it now
Left to my inventions,
and the best of my intentions
We know I’d only destroy myself

If you don’t
Hold me back
Hold me back
Cause it’s just like me
To run from the one who loves me
Father please
Hold me Back
Be the strength I lack
Cause it’s just like me to run

But you hold me back
You hold me back
Cause it’s just like you to
run to the one who needs you
You hold me back, Hold me back
It’s just like you to love me better than I do

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, Lord, take and seal it
Seal it for Your courts above

About God is Laughing

https://ragingvanity.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Humility, Materialism, Suffering, Vanity / Narcissism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Flaming Sword (Gen 3:24)

  1. Meshawn Senior says:

    Excellent post! It’s funny, your Gravatar pic is the same one I used on my latest post. Blessings! 🙂

  2. jake says:

    The “FIRE!” teaching I’ve encountered seemed to have a different bend than the one you used as an example. It was rather vague but the guy seemed to be trying to convey passionate “FIRE!” (passion for God) or glorious “FIRE!”.

  3. infowarrior1 says:

    This is why god is worthy of worship.

Leave a Reply

