A Dream of the Wilderness, A Roaring Lion

The following is a dream I had back in the 90’s, it touches on the position we have apart from God.

I was walking along in a wilderness alone. I was carrying a small caliber hunting rifle (a .22) and was hunting along a ridge when I heard I soul chilling shriek/growl/snarl. I was being hunted. Whatever had created that sound I was too terrified to face so I began running along until I came to a large sprawling tree. As I saw it from afar I considered climbing it but as I neared it I began to realize the futility of this, the tree was full of human skeletons. The tree was also filled with firearms of all types hanging from it’s branches, some much bigger than my own. I considered trading our my small rifle for one of the ones there. I looked under the tree and saw the number of skeletons clinging to their rifles. The weapons had not availed them so I set my own down despairing its usefulness against this enemy that was hunting me. I continued to run along, hoping to find some means of escape, some shelter from this unseen enemy.

I ran until I eventually came to a slow moving river. I looked across to the far bank and see a cow pasture. If the cows are safe, I thought maybe I will be safe there too. As I waded across to the far side I see a plywood sign nailed to a tree leaning over the water is said:

THIS PASTURE IS FOR COWS ONLY

NO TRESPASSING

I was so afraid of the animal that was pursuing me I didn’t even consider the consequences of trespassing. I followed the trails back to the barn and decided that I would be safe if I hid by the large watering trough I found there. As I calmed down I started thinking about what would happen if the owner discovered me one his land, what if he sent me back into the wilderness? A short while later I began to hear the footsteps of someone approaching, I began quaking in fear as the man approached I realized that he was in fact a giant, he towered over me.

He asked in a booming voice “Didn’t you see the sign?”

I could do nothing but nod, yes.

He continued “This pasture is for cows.”

I was sure he was going to physically throw me of his land, although the presence of this man frightened me even more than the animal that had been hunting me, I was totally paralyzed with fear.

He reached down and lifted me to my feet saying “I have a place for you.” and he guided me towards the house in the distance. I was beside myself in terror as I imagined what this place might be, surely a place of terrible punishment. He led me through the kitchen of his farmhouse and into his dining room. Before me was spread an impossibly huge table filled for a feast.

He showed me to a chair and said “Guests are to eat at my table, this place is for you.”

I took my place at his table realizing that I would not have to fear the wild beast nor my host ever again.

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: Whom resist stedfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world. But the God of all grace, who hath called us unto his eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you. To him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen.
(1Pe 5:8-11)

Once we realize just how in the wilderness we are we can start realizing that there is no safety apart from God. The only place for us, the only place that matters is where He would have us. If we are anywhere else we are on our own, peering into that pool again seeking meaning and security apart from Him. The only way we can ever be sure we are where He wants us to be is to be yoked to Him and hear His voice.

I believe that this dream was from the Lord. The tree reminds me so much of the “Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil”, the weapons representing our own devices or our own methods of securing ourselves in the wilderness. The river is classically a baptism experience with some security on the other side. Ultimately, our security is in Him sitting at His table.

About God is Laughing

https://ragingvanity.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in God, Worthy of All Praise and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

